When trying to delete recovery points on an AppAssure/Rapid Recovery v5.x - v6.x source/target core, there are no delete buttons on the recovery points and nothing in the actions menu on the Recovery Points tab. This is by design and not a bug in AppAssure/Rapid Recovery. To delete recovery points from the target side you must first delete the replication relationship between the source and the target. Deleting the replication relationship is different from deleting recovery points. You can delete the replication relationship without deleting any data. IMPORTANT: Please note that you should not delete single incremental recovery points. Deleting a single incremental in the middle of a chain will cause the chain to be unusable. Only delete older base images and the recovery points associated with that base image.
Complete steps 1-3 for the source core and all steps for the target core.
- Go to the Replication tab
- Expand the core so you can see all of the replicated agents
- Hover over the settings button next to the agent name and choose delete menu.
- On the target core only there will be a checkbox in the following dialog window. If you want to delete all recovery points on the target side for that agent put a check in the box. If you are only wanting to remove a subset of recovery points leave the box unchecked and click OK.
- If you choose to delete all recovery points you can go to the events tab to watch the delete task finish and then you are done. Depending on the size of recovery points this could take a few minutes to a few hours. If you did not check the box in step 4 proceed to step 6.
- Once you click OK in the dialog box you will notice the agent has moved from the Replicated Machines group down to a new group titled "Recovery Points Only"
- Click on the agent name under "Recovery Points Only" and go to the Recovery Points tab
- You will notice that the delete options are now available under the actions button and there are delete buttons on each base image. You must use delete range to delete incremental files. If you do delete an incremental it will delete all subsequent incremental files tied to the on you just deleted.
- Once you have deleted the recovery points you need to setup replication again from the source side. It will automatically find the agent recovery points left on the target and you should see the agent name move back into the Replicated Machines section.